BBC Shakespeare epic histories cycle – AN AGE OF KINGS – available as a 5 disc set.

An Age of KingsAN AGE OF KINGS (E)   1960   £29.99
Finally released on dvd after 50 years this BBC Shakespeare  epic histories cycle stages the eight plays from Richard II to Richard III as studio dramas in 15 parts of between 60 and 75 minutes each. With distinguished by many outstanding performances, including Robert Hardy, Judi Dench and Eileen Atkins

Adapted from the plays ‘Richard II’, ‘Henry IV: Parts 1 and 2’, ‘Henry V’, ‘Henry VI: Parts 1, 2 and 3’ and ‘Richard III’, the series includes performances by actors such as Frank Pettingell, Angela Baddeley, Robert Hardy, Eileen Atkins, Judi Dench and Sean Connery. The episodes are: ‘Richard II: The Hollow Crown’, ‘Richard II: The Deposing of a King’, ‘Henry IV: Rebellion from the North’, ‘Henry IV: The Road to Shrewsbury’, ‘Henry IV: The New Conspiracy’, ‘Henry IV: Uneasy Lies the Head’, ‘Henry V: Signs of War’, ‘Henry V: The Band of Brothers’, ‘Henry VI: The Red Rose and the White’, ‘Henry VI: The Fall of a Protector’, ‘Henry VI: The Rabble from Kent’, ‘Henry VI: The Morning’s War’, ‘Henry VI: The Sun in Splendour’, ‘Richard III: The Dangerous Brother’ and ‘Richard III: The Boar Hunt’.

Review at –

DVD available to buy at –


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s